Any other writers here?

thismustbetheplace
Gossiper
Gossiper
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Any other writers here?

Post by thismustbetheplace »

What do you guys write? How prolific are you? Have you been published? Do you want to be published, or do you just write for your own personal joy? Do you want to make it into your full-time career?

I have always kind of thought of myself as a writer, even when I was little. However, the last two years of high school and four years of college have kind of crushed that spirit out of me, since I have no time or energy to myself anymore, and I am majoring in molecular and cellular biology which is about as far as you can get from being a writer. Last night I stayed up until almost 4 A.M. writing the first 10 pages of a pilot for a TV series that I've been thinking about writing for a really long time. Who knows if it will ever get anywhere, but for me when I write, I really understand what people mean when they say "labor of love." Sure it would suck to not have it come to fruition, but in a way, if I end up with a finished product that is perfect to my standards, it still would feel like it was worth it. I don't know if I'd ever be brave enough or confident enough in my writing ability to try to make it into my full-time career, but maybe someday. I know I still have a long way to go if that's ever going to happen.

Min
Informer
Informer

Re: Any other writers here?

Post by Min »

I'm a writer, but not in that sense. I write articles and features for various sites online. Lately I've been writing more articles for Yahoo Health. I've never ventured into print for many reasons -- horrific payment schedule and I don't fancy spending months getting one article completed when I have to pay bills...

I also do beauty blogging for fun.