Tips for getting married abroad

Burning_Benches
Wallflower
Wallflower
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: Tips for getting married abroad

Post by Burning_Benches »

Generally getting married abroad is loads cheaper. I used to be a wedding photographer in Spain so I’ve had a load of experience helping other people. Have you at least narrowed it down to a country? I’d search locations on Instagram and try and fall in love with somewhere first before you decide anything else!

Burning_Benches
Wallflower
Wallflower

Post by Burning_Benches »

Sorry for the double post - but look at the currencies around as well (cheeky). That means you can choose somewhere your money will go further with the exchange rate! But be aware of the legalities about getting married abroad. Some places it’s easy - so many places are SO difficult so you might have to get married at home and have a blessing abroad.

mangowarfare
Learner
Learner

Post by mangowarfare »

Hi, American expat here. I live in Scandinavia in my husbands country. We had a destination wedding in Ireland because it was closest to my family in the US and not too far from my husbands family. So everyone had to travel! It was also nice because I got to cut down my guest list to the very essential people with a few friends. Some family couldn't come due to age or young children, which was to be expected.

I always wanted to get married in the Newport Mansions of Rhode Island, but I knew I would never have that kind of money nor would I know that many people! But when planning my wedding this way, I ended up having a beautiful serviced dinner in a Georgian castle. I even had my ceremony outdoors, and it didn't rain! Lucky me!